Free 186 More Best Homemade Tools eBook:  
Get tool plans

User Tag List

Thread: Hello from Southern California

Thanks

Hello from Southern California

Hi to my fellow homemade toolers,

Although I've been doing the home machine shop stuff for 5+ years, I had never run across this forum until last week, when I was looking for ideas on a mill vise work stop. What a great bunch of potential projects you have here. I look forward being a rather frequent visitor and will contribute as the opportunities arise.

I'm originally from northern NJ, then Texas, Alabama, and now San Diego area. Other than metal shop in HS, and some summer college jobs, I never did any machine shop work.

My working career was spent in various computer hardware jobs: First, as a Fire Control Tech in the Navy, FTG1(SS), then several years as a Field Engineer, installing and repairing computers and related peripherals, mainly for the financial industry. This was a lot of hands-on-machinery work. Then I switched from hardware to software. For 23 years, I engineered systems for computerized mapping and geographic information/ geospatial intelligence systems. Interesting projects for a variety of customers/industries/locations, both US and foreign, but I did miss working with my hands on physical objects (other than a keyboard) and actually seeing tangible progress on daily basis.
    Then around 2009, a visit to the nearby Museum of Craftsmanship inspired me to get reacquainted with metal work and machining. Since then, I've scratch built a Webster engine, restored a Logan 10" lathe, and made many small parts, tools, etc in support of my efforts. It's cool how you can use your tools to make tools and parts to fix themselves! (or to extend their capabilities.)